Menu Option - How To Register
Menu Option - Find a Centre
Menu Option - Upcoming Events
My Results
Menu Option - Results
Menu Option - Centre Login
Menu Option - Cross Country

Roll of Exellence

The Little Athletics Australia Roll of Excellence recognises former participants who have achieved at the highest level in their chosen sport or profession.

There are four categories: Athletics, Sportsman, Achievers and Volunteers.



Track and Field

Steve Hooker (2009): Olympic and world champion pole vaulter.

Nathan Deakes (2009): World champion and world record setting racewalker.

Amy Winters (2009): Multiple Paralympic gold medal winning sprinter.

Melinda Gainsford-Taylor (2009):World indoor champion, three-time Olympian and Australian 100m and 200m record holder.

Jana Pittman-Rawlinson (2009): Two-time world champion in 400m hurdles.

Jane Saville (2010): Olympic bronze medallist and three-time Commonwealth Games champion racewalker.

John Steffensen (2010): Olympic and world championships 4x400m relay medallist; Commonwealth Games 400m champion.

Darren Clark (2011): Olympian, World Champion medalist and Commonwealth Games 400m Champion.

Bronwyn Thompson (2011): Commonwealth Games Long Jump Champion and Commonwealth, Oceania and National record holder.



Kathy Watt (2009): 1992 Olympic cycling gold medallist.

John Worsfold (2009)AFL premiership winner as a player and coach with the West Coast Eagles.

George Gregan (2009)Australian rugby union captain and long serving scrum half.

Alisa Camplin (2009)Winter Olympic gold medallist in aerial skiing.

Nova Peris (2009)Olympic gold medallist in hockey and Commonwealth Games gold medallist in athletics (200m).

Geoff Ogilvy (2010): World top-10 ranked golfer.

Hollie Grima (2010): Australian Opals basketballer.

Natalie von Bertouch (2011): Australian Netball Captain and World Netball Championships gold medalist.

Matt Giteau (2011): Previous captain of the Brumbies and player in both the Rugby World Cup and Tri- Nations.



John Maclean (2009)Pioneering wheelchair athlete who was the first to complete the Hawaiian Ironman and swim the English Channel.

Mike Whitney (2009)Australian cricket fast bowler and TV host and celebrity.

Kirstie Marshal (2009)Pioneering aerial skiier and Victorian politician.

Dr Peter Larkins (2009)Olympian in athletics (3000m steeplechase), successful sports medicine doctor and media personality. Also one of the very first participants in Little Athletics.

Dr Chris Bradshaw (2010): Commonwealth Games representative in athletics (decathlon), successful sports medicine doctor.

Janine Shepherd (2010): Inspirational former cross country skiier who overcame life threatening injuries sustained in a bicycle training accident. As a walking paraplegic gained her pilots license and has authored a number of best selling books.

Brett Rosebury (2011): AFL umpire who has umpired in the past 4 grand finals and won the AFL All Australian Umpire award in 2008, 2009 & 2011.

Paul Murray (2011): 2UE Drive Show host, acclaimed journalist and winner of the Brian White Award for Radio Reporter of the Year.



Trevor Billingham (2009) (deceased): Founder of Little Athletics. Established Little Athletics in Geelong in 1964 and worked tirelessly to see it spread throughout Victoria and Australia.

Alan Triscott (2009): Instrumental in the early spread of Little Athletics and the establishment of the Victorian Little Athletics Association and Australian Little Athletics Union.

Doug Hancy (2009): Western Australian administrator who has had a involvement in Little Athletics for over forty years and who formalised the conduct of state championships in WA.

Barry Garment (2009)NSW administrator who has been involved in Little Athletics for close to forty years, establishing a new Centre and serving as a key association official at state championships.

Helen Moir (2009)Tasmanian administrator who has been involved in Little Athletics for over thirty years and who has been pivotal in the growth of Little Athletics in northern Tasmania.

George Harvey (2010): Queensland administrator who was instrumental in the growth of Little Athletics in Queensland an in Australia. Former President of Queensland Little Athletics and Australian Little Athletics.

Peter Wickes (2010): NSW administrator who has provided volunteer legal advice, administrative skills and coaching assistance over the past thirty years.

Maxine Boyd (2011): Western Australian administrator who has had involvement in Little Athletics for over thirty years who held positions from club level to LAA Administration and Finance Director.

Jim Arkins (2011): NSW administrator who has been involved in Little Athletics for over forty years playing a pivotal role in establishing many centres in NSW, treasurer on the Board of NSW and State Team selector.

 Roll of Ex Final Apr 09 L H _2_[1].pdf