Results - Junior Sprint Wars II

After the success of the inaugural PACC Junior Sprint Wars last year, the club got the 2015/2106 Summer Track season underway at the Adelaide Superdrome on Monday night, giving the chance for U13-U19 riders to get some Match Sprint practice early in the season.

A fantastic field of 34 riders (including an impressive field of 12 girls and plenty of new faces) lined up for qualifying with many never having participated in a ‘formal’ Match Sprint competition before and getting a chance to set a flying 200m time under race conditions. Chloe Moran, although not typically recognised as a pure sprinter topped the time sheets for the girls in a 12.69, with PACC’s Maeve Moroney-Plouffe and Olivia Wheeler not far behind. Harrison Lodge has obviously been putting in the training over Winter smashing the 11 second barrier with an impressive 10.78, topping the time sheets. 

With qualifying times in (times listed below), the field was then split into 4 groups and each group had its own mini-Match Sprint competition, with the idea that riders are racing against other riders of similar times, rather than by gender or age group. This leads to some interesting racing with riders on different gearing limitations for different age groups competing against each other, forcing the riders to think about the tactics of riding against smaller/larger gearing.

Harrison Lodge was always going to be hard to beat in the A-grade group based on qualifying times and did it easily against Alistair Barr who battled through the rounds to reach the final. Harry Askew took out B-grade over ‘enduro’ Liam Nolan. Relative newcomers Tristan Saunders and Brooklyn Vonderwall battled out the C-grade final with Saunders taking home the Sprint Wars socks and CX extraordinaire Dan Tattersall showed his cycling versatility winning the D-grade final against Noah Davies.

Many of the U19 riders will be up again in two weeks mixing it up with the Elite and Masters riders in the Open Sprint Wars competition on 26 October and there is a second Junior Sprint Wars events scheduled for 21 December, just in time for some fine-tuning prior to the State Junior Championships in early January.

Thanks to the fantastic PACC volunteer crew that run these events and acknowledgement must go to Race Director David Miller, Chief Commissaire Mark Gregory, Commissaire Will Lyons, commentator John Kelly (OK, not from PACC but he did a great job), sign-on with Mark Robinson, Clerk of Course Gemma Kernich, Track Marshal Michael Wheeler and the Timekeepers/Judges Carla Scragg, Phil Dixon and Paula Hollamby.

Flying 200m times:
Brailey JACHMANN 15.67
Isabelle KELLY 15.46
Alec JOHNSON 15.29
Laura REID 15.03
Emma SEELIGER 15.00
Oliver WILSON 14.91
Noah DAVIES 14.84
Hannah SEELIGER 14.70
Elliott WALKER 14.47
Lillian KELLY 14.46
Brooklyn VONDERWALL 14.22
Heather MAY 14.06
Philip McINTOSH 13.94
Braydon JONES 13.80
Sophie EDWARDS 13.56
Tristan SAUNDERS 13.44
Olivia WHEELER 13.38
Emerson NUGENT 12.94
Chloe MORAN 12.69
Liam NOLAN 12.33
Ethan EGGLESTONE 12.31
Harry ASKEW 12.12
Lewis WALKER 12.12
Kennedy STEWART 12.09
Cooper TYE 12.02
Jarrad DRIZNERS 11.90
Braden O'SHEA 11.77
Alistair BARR 11.47
James BRISTER 11.45
Harrison LODGE 10.78