History 2010 - 2016


Every grade made the finals this season. SDFC has two sides playing in the Div Two Under 14s that at the end of the season win through the semi-finals to play off in the Grand Final against each other. SD Crocs defeated SD. Under 14s Div One play in the grand Final against Nightcliff with Nightcliff winning. Premier League lose the 1st Semi to finish 4th.



SDFC has four teams playing three grades of Under 14s. The under 14s Div three side lost the Grand Final to Palmerston. Premier League miss out on the Finals.



Three sides played Grand Finals. Under 14s won the Grand final defeating Nightcliff. Under 16s Div Two lost the Grand Final to St Marys and Under 18s lost the Grand Final to Big River Hawks. Premier league again lost a semi-final to finish fourth. Damian Cupido kicks 140 goals in the premier League to win the Dennis Dunn Trophy. Troy Taylor returned to the club to play Premier League. This season the Southern Districts Football Club celebrated 25 years since entering a side into the NTFL League level. Known then as the 'A' Grade the SDFC side entered along with Katherine. The club held an Anniversary ball with over 190 people attending from all over Australia. Michael McLean resigned from the Premier League coaching roll.



Nakia Cockatoo played for Australia in the Under 17s and then Drafted No. 10 in the 2014 AFL Draft to Geelong. Shannon Rusca returned to coaching the Premier League. The SDFC was runner up Club Of The Year. Beau Schwarze won the Gunderson Medal for the best player for the Div One Under 14s. Richard Tambling won the NT News Player Of The Year in the Premier League. Richard was also Runner up in the ABC Player Of The Year missing out by one vote. SDFC had also runner’s up in three grades for the best player medals. Under 16s Div Two Brodie Morcom. Under 12s Div One Marcus Simpson and Under 12s Div Two Makayla Siddons. Under 14s Div Two, Under 16s Div One and Under 16s Div Two all played in losing Grand Finals. Premier League lost a Elimination Final to finish fifth.



Keegan dingo played his 150th game of Premier League to become a player Life Member. Under 16s Div One lost the Grand Final to St Marys. Premier League lost the Pre Lim Final to just miss out on the Grand Final. Richard Tambling was runner up in the MVP for the NEAFL competition but he won the NT Thunder Best and Fairest award. The NT Thunder won the Grand Final in the NEAFL.



The premier League finish Minor Premiers for only the second time in the clubs history. SDFC had most successful year in Grand Final winning three out four played in. Both Under 16s grades and the Under 12s Div One won their Grand Finals against Nightcliff. Under 14s Div One won their Grand Final but very sadly for junior sport they had it taken off them when it was found they had too many players on the field for 2 minutes in the last quarter so the game was awarded to Nightcliff. Premier League for the second season in a row lost the Pre Lim Final to miss out on the Grand Final. The Mens Div One and the Under 15s girls lost the Pre Lim Finals to miss out on the Grand Final. Will Farrer won the Dennis Dunn Trophy kicking over 100 goals in the Premier League and he also won the ABC Player Of The Year. Zac Smith has won the Under 18's Abala Medal voted as best player in the NTFL Under 18's competition. Ben Ah Mat played his 250th NTFL game. Matt Cannard played his 200th NTFL Premier League game (all at the SDFC) to become a NTFL life Member. Tom Fittock played his 150th Premier League game for the SDFC to become a SDFC Life member. The SDFC as of this season has the equal most teams along with Nightcliff in the NTFL. Only one team missed out on playing in the finals. The club has three female teams - Womens Div One, Under 18s Girls and Under 15s Girls.