Zone History

Zone Fourteen Bowling Association was created and affiliated with the Royal New South Wales Bowling Association (RNSWBA) in 1995, following a redistribution of clubs to make up a total of 16 Zones throughout the State.  Before this time the clubs formed part of Zone 1, which stretched North to the Queensland border.

The Zone was initially made up of two separate District Bowling Associations, the Lower North Coast (LNC) and Mid North Coast (MNC).

On the 25 July 2014 the Mid North Coast, and 1 August 2014 the Lower North Coast District Bowling Associations were dissovled as part of the Management restructuring of the Zone.

Also as part of this restructure on the 27 June 2014 the name of the Zone was changed to Zone 14 Bowling Association Inc.

Originally the Zone comprised 28 clubs whose affiliation years were:

1921    Kempsey

1938    Port Macquarie

Now - Port City

1942    Coffs Harbour

1947    Macksville

1948    Wauchope

1950    Nambucca Heads

1952    Sawtell

1952    Woolgoolga

1953    North Haven

1953    Urunga

1956    Bowraville

1958    South West Rocks

1958    Westport Macquarie

Now - Westport

1959    Kempsey Heights

1959    Park Beach

1959    Scotts Head

1963    Crescent Head

1963    Hat Head

1968    Stuarts Point

1970    North Beach

1972    Comboyne


1972    Lake Cathie

1978    Port Macquarie RSL

Now - Port Panthers

1985    Camden Haven Golf

Now - Kew

1947    Dorrigo

(Closed 2010)

1947 Bellingen

(Closed 2015)

1971    West Coffs

(Closed 2015)

1934    Smithtown

(Ceased affiliation 2017)




The Constitution was adopted 13 May 1995.

Application for affiliation with RNSWBA Inc was 16 June 1995. 

Incorporated 22 December 1995 under the Associations Incorporated Act 1984.

At a meeting in Grafton 13 May 1995 the districts of the LNC and MNC met officially to form its new Zone – Zone Fourteen.

The steering committee elected was: -

President:                    Ray Pickford   – LNC             (North Haven)

Vice President:            Ed Lydall        – MNC            (Woolgoolga)

Vice President:            Nev Roth        – LNC             (Port City)

Secretary/Treasurer:    Pat Geary        – MNC            (West Coffs)

State Councillor:         Don Wallace   – LNC             (Hat Head)


Inaugural AGM          – held 15 October 1995 at Scotts Head B.C. where steering committee were formally elected to office for 1995/96.

Zone colours:             Red and white.