Club History

Bulimba Women’s Hockey Club was founded in 1972. Our club is one of the largest in Brisbane, and is a member of the Brisbane Women’s Hockey Association.

Bulimba Women’s Hockey Club has 12 life members, 7 of which are still playing today.  We have 5 members with over 30 years’ service, all of which are still playing today. We also have 14 with 20 years’ service and 12 of the 14 are still playing today.

Life Members

Fred Husted 1981 (Deceased) Jean Hooper 1990
Bes Husted 1982 (Deceased) Jan Hughes 1992 (Deceased)
Helen Allan 1988 (Still playing) Gaye Swaffield 1997 (Still playing)
Wendy Nicholls 1988 (Still playing) Kim Sheather 1997 (Still playing)
Jill Gardner 1990 Joanne Smith 2001 (Still playing)
April Parmenter   Yvonne Gibson  

Teams Available

Teams available in the Brisbane Women's Hockey Association competition are junior teams including Rookey’s (Under 7 and Under 9), Under 11, Under 13, Junior Grass Divisions 1 to 3 , Junior Turf Divisions 1 to 3 and Under 13.  Junior teams are for players aged between 13 and 17.

Senior teams are Division 1 to 5 (played on turf) and DP1 to 5 which play at Downey Park on grass.  There are three divisions of Monday Masters (35 years and over) with their competition being played on Monday evenings on turf.

During the off season we field teams in Junior and Senior Summer turf Competitions, Indoor teams and Masters which are held from October to December and resume again in January to February.