Member Portal Button
2012 National Championships

Endurance 1000

endurance 1000

The Vorgee Endurance 1000 program was introduced to Masters Swimming Australia in 2012, replacing the Aeorbics program. The program is designed to encourage people to compete in distances from 400m to 60 minutes duration in a variety of strokes.

The program is optional, but all competition results for eligible swims in the Results Portal are automatically included. To achieve the required goals (which relate to gender and age groupings) the swims are done over an extended part of the calendar year. As a result, a certain level of aerobic fit­ness needs to be maintained in order to complete the individual event requirements.

Non-competition based swims can be entered directly into the Endurance 1000 section of the Results Portal. Swims from competition do not have to be entered manually.

The total number of swims (gaining points) that can be completed is 62 - broken down into:

25 individual 400m swims

25 individual 800m swims

3 by 1500m swims

3 by 30 minute swims

3 by 45 minute swims

3 by 60 minute swims

Points are gained for the completion of each different event. These combine with points gained by fellow club members and contribute to a total point score for each competing club. The highest scoring club will then be declared the Vorgee Endurance 1000 Champion Club. (Previously known as the Aerobic Trophy winner.)

This program became a National event in 1982 and each year has enjoyed an increase in the number of swimmers competing, thus endorsing its popularity and acceptance with members.

As an extension of the program, the Vorgee Endurance 1000 Award (previously known as the Tassie Award and National Aerobic Award) goes to the club averaging the highest number of points per reg­istered member. This is designed to encourage as many members as possible in each competing club to com­plete one or more events in the Vorgee Endurance 1000 program.

eg; 10 swimmers from a club of 10 mem­bers scoring 10 points each - total 100 points (average 10 points each) would beat a club of 5 swimmers out of 50 members scoring 50 points each - total 250 points (average 5 points each).

What are the changes from the previous aerobic program?

1. Reduction to the point scoring categories to three discrete categories, keeping the fastest category as it is, up to the age of 70; and combining categories 2 and 3 to make band 2 and combine categories 4-6 to make band 3.

2. In over 70’s -  combine categories 1 and 2 to make band 1, combine categories 3 and 4 to make band 2 and combine categories 5 and 6 to make band 3

3. Award points for each swim up to a maximum of five swims in each of the 400 and 800.

4. The maximum points add up to 1005.

5. There are no bonus points for completing all swims.

  • Every swim counts
  • No longer have to swim 5 of each stroke in 400m & 800m strokes
  • All interclub swims will automatically be loaded onto the Vorgee Endurance 1000 program by the National Recorder on a monthly basis.
  • All swimmers who enter MSA swim events will appear in the Vorgee Endurance 1000 program.

Guidelines for the Endurance 1000 program




Vorgee Endurance 1000 Portal


Endurance 1000 Recording Sheets

30 min swim

45 min swim

60 min swim

400m swim

800m swim

1500m swim

Endurance 1000 Summary Sheets

Time Summary Sheet

Distance Summary Sheet

2012 Award Winners

Top scoring Club (Trophy) – Vorgee Endurance 1000 Champion Club - Talays Masters (TAS)

Average points per member (Award) – Vorgee Endurance 1000 Award - Campbelltown Collegians (NSW)

Full results from the 2012 program can be found in the Endurance 1000 portal - go to "results".


Age Group Times: 

Men  - 18-2425-2930-3435-3940-4445-4950-5455-5960-6465-6970-7475-7980-8485-8990-94 and 95-99

Women - 18-2425-2930-3435-3940-4445-4950-5455-5960-6465-6970-7475-7980-8485-8990-94 and 95-99