History and Structure


On 20 April, 1887 the following motion was moved at a meeting held at Levy and Scotts' rooms in Oxford Street, Sydney:

It is desirable to form an association to be called the Amateur Athletics Association of New South Wales to take up the management of amateur athletic sports in this colony.

Thus were the beginnings of Australia's oldest athletics association - the New South Wales Amateur Athletics Association (NSWAAA).

The first NSW championships were held the following year in 1888.

The NSWAAA were a founding member of the Amateur Athletic Union of Australasia in 1897, which changed its name in 1927 to the Amateur Athletic Union of Australia, in 1982 to the Australian Athletic Union and 1989 to its current name, Athletics Australia.

The NSWAAA changed its name to Athletics NSW in 1989 and became an incorporated body on 15 January, 1996.


Athletics NSW is an incorporated company limited by guarantee. It is recognised by the Australian Sports Commission and the NSW Department of Sport and Recreation as the State Sporting Organisation (SSO) for athletics within NSW.

Athletics NSW is one of the eight Member Associations (MA) of Athletics Australia, which is recognised by the Australian Sports Commission as the National Sporting Organisation (NSO) for athletics within Australia. Athletics Australia is one of 213 member federations of the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF), the body responsible for athletics at a global level.

Athletics NSW is comprised of its affiliated clubs, who are its members as per the Articles of Association. There are currently 88 affiliated member clubs of Athletics NSW. An elected Board of Directors set policy and direction for the organisation, which is implemented by the management staff.

Athletes, coaches and officials generally participate in the sport through registration with Athletics NSW via our affiliated clubs.