National Championships


National Championship History

The inaugural Australian Women’s Veterans Championship was held in 1985 in Melbourne following a 3-day Carnival held in Canberra in 1984.The ACTHA hosted an invitation tournament with teams from ACT, NSW, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania and Victoria. Players were so keen to continue the concept of veteran’s hockey that a motion passed at a dinner on the weekend voted to make the tournament an annual event. Victoria offered to host the next tournament and to invite participants from every State.

The response was so overwhelming that there were two divisions, with the larger states sending teams for both divisions. From 1989 the divisions became age qualified, with an over 35 division and an over 40 division. In 1994 an over 45 division was added, 1998 an over 50 division, 2003 a 55 division and in Hobart in 2009 a 60’s division.

In 2011 the name was changed to the Australian Women’s Masters National Championships to align with international recognition.

In 2015 the 30th anniversary of the Women's Masters National Championships was recognised at the National Championships in Brisbane. The occasion saw many of the original team members and officials from across the States join with other past and present players to celebrate the history, memories and achievements of Women's Masters in Australia.

In 2016 the 65's age division was introduced at the National Championships in Hobart.


History of the Championships

Host State Venue by Year

Previous Winners -35's

Previous Winners - 40's

Previous Winners - 45's

Previous Winners - 50's

Previous Winners - 55's

Previous Winners - 60's

Previous Winners - 65's

Champion State - Meg Wilson Trophy

Restricted States - Anne Stewart Trophy

Trophies - History and Names

Final Standings, Results & Awards 2108 - Bunbury/Busselton

Final Standings, Results and Awards 2017 Newcastle

Final Standings Hobart 2016